Baby Blue Elephant Toy

17Jul08

I have been so busy lately I haven’t had time to do any craft, let alone sit down and blog about it, and the baby isn’t even here yet. I envy those crafty blogger mums, the ones with 1-4 kids under the age of 6 yet they still manage to blog every other day and do craft.

I’m not telling the whole truth though, as I did have time to do a little craft, only it has taken me so long to take a picture of it and blog it.

I went to Spotlight and bought some felt, wool and stuffing. I sewed together this gorgeous little elephant which was inspired by this pretty pink elephant. I chose a baby blue and white polka dot felt and a plain white felt with baby blue wool. My elephant didn’t turn out as good as the one I was inspired by-but that is because I didn’t cut a pattern or look at the computer screen, I just cut the felt pieces from memory hoping I would get it right. I ended up making the under piece too big so my elephants legs sit lower and almost parallel to the ground, but I still think he is adorable.

I hand sewed him too, the last time I hand sewed was years ago-I am so used to having a sewing machine. The hand stitching was a little messy though so I went over the cotton thread stitches with a cute wool stitch which I think adds that extra something.

Because I am making this for my son on the way I thought I should make it a rattle. I improvised and used the center egg from a Kinder Surprise and filled it with a few buttons and sealed it shut. I stuffed it in with the stuffing and now the elephant is a perfect baby rattle toy. I can just imagine my baby chewing its legs or trunk off like babies do.

One Response to “Baby Blue Elephant Toy”

  1. 1 Casey

    very cute! I was trying to think of what I could use for a little rattle inside some blocks I’m making, I never thought of the kindersurprise egg! I have lots of those here, thanks for that tip!


Leave a Reply

